Moorestown girls win first Burlco XC title in 17 years, Liliah Gordon takes individual title!!!!!!

Junior Julia Brock placed 6th and sophomore Noelia Reyes 10th to lead the Moorestown girls to their first Burlington County cross country championship in 17 years Friday.

Brock ran 21:08 and Reyes 21:25 to lead the all-underclass Quakers to a 70-73 win over Cherokee, which had won the last three titles. Northern Burlington, with sophomore overall winner Liliah Gordon, was a close 3rd with 86 points.

It was Moorestown’s first title since 2005, when the Quakers also finished just ahead of Cherokee, 36-42. That team was led by Jessica Rogers and Devin O’Connell in 2nd and 5th.

The Lenape District – Cherokee, Shawnee, Lenape and Seneca – had won 15 straight County Open girls titles since Moorestown’s win in 2005.

Brock, a 1st-year XC runner, is the daughter of Ron Brock, who won the 1990 state Group 1 1,600 title as a junior at Riverside. Brock finished second at the 1990 XC County Open, three seconds behind Willingboro’s Kyle Lanier.

Sophomore Gabrielle DeJoseph, junior Paige McCabe and sophomore Hannah Byrd-Leitner packed in 17th, 18th and 20th for the Quakers all between 22:12 and 22:20, with 6th runner sophomore Sarah Brown in 23rd in 22:30 and 7th Jane Goettle not far back in 28th in 22:47.

Junior Kerry O’Day [3rd in 19:24], senior Kelsey Niglio [4th in 19:42] and sophomore Megan Niglio [5th in 20:20] led Cherokee, the defending Meet of Champions winner which was not at full strength.

Gordon, 2nd last year to Cherokee’s Nicole Clifford with an 18:45, ran 18:31 this year to become Northern’s first County Open winner in 44 years. Laura Mason ran 18:48 over 3.0 miles to win the 1978 title at Burlington County College in Pemberton. Mason went on to become an NCAA Division 2 All-America at East Stroudsburg and raced the 5,000 at the 1996 Olympic Trials.

Gordon’s winning time is fastest at Mill Creek since Megan Lacy ran 17:53 to win the 2010 County Open.

Cinnaminson senior Stephanie Renouf continued her outstanding season with a 2nd-place finish in 19:16. That’s the best finish by a Cinnaminson girl at the County Open since Becky Leon won the 1991 race in 19:38, also at Mill Creek.

Also in the top 10 were Burlington Township senior Maeve Timms [7th in 21:12], Seneca junior Alex Butcher [8th in 21:23] and Shawnee sophomore Paige Cline [10th in 21:34].

Timms is the first Burlington Township girl ever to finish in the top 10 at a Burlington County Open. The best previous finish by a Township runner came in 1996, when Janine Gudger placed 11th in 21:23 at Cherokee. Gudger was the 1996 South Jersey Group 1 800 champ.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s