Owen Ritti, Nick Scarangelli, Chris Sardy go 1-2-3, lead Ocean City to 20th Cape May title in last 21 years!!!

Senior Owen Ritti and juniors Nick Scarangelli and Chris Sardy swept the top three places and Ocean City won its sixth Cape May County title Friday afternoon.

Ritti ran 16:08 over the 5,000-meter course at the Cape May Zoo in Lower Township, Scarangelli ran 16:16 and Sardy 16:25 as the Red Raiders placed all seven runners in the top 11.

Ritti’s time is No. 5 in course history, according to the MileSplit venue page, and fastest since Mark Nelson of Lower Cape May Regional ran 15:59 in 2016. The last Ocean City runner to go faster at the zoo is Louis Paone, who ran 15:52 in 2013.

Ocean City outscored 2nd-place Lower Cape May Regional 23-59. The meet wasn’t held last year, but Ocean City won every year from 2015 through 2019. Last time the Red Raiders did not win the county title was 2014, when Middle Township outscored them 24-34 for the title. Ocean City won 14 straight from 2000 through 2013 so has now won 20 of the last 21 titles.

Ocean City placed its 4th through 7th runners 8th through 11th, all between 17:18 and 17:34. 

The Raiders’ 4th and 5th scorers were senior Nigel Collins [8th in 17:18] and sophomore Matt Hoffman [9th in 17:31]. They were followed by junior Colin Abbott [10th in 17:33] and senior Reece Wagner [12th in 17:34].

Scoring against the field, Ocean City would have won 23-34.

Also in the top 10 were Wildwood sophomore Jorge Cruz [4th in 16:28], Lower Cape May Regional junior Jack Cura [5th in 16:30], Lower Cape May senior Zeb HInker [6th in 17:09] and Wildwood senior Robert Wileczek [7th In 17:12].


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s