Liliah Gordon smashes course record, leads Northern to first BCSL Liberty Division XC title!!!!!

Liliah Gordon continued her terrific freshman season by not only winning the individual title at Wednesday’s BCSL Championships Liberty Division race but leading Northern Burlington to its first team title since the inception of the girls meet in 1987.

Gordon ran 18:03 at New Egypt – an all-course personal best for any 5,000-meter course – finishing 2 1/2 minutes ahead of second-place Maeve Timms of Burlington Township.

She broke the course record of 18:10 set at the 2015 Burlington County Scholastic League Championships by Pennsauken’s Briana Roberts, and she broke the freshman course record of 18:55 set in 2017 by Moorestown’s Kate Inglis.

But bigger than the individual title was Northern’s team title. The Greyhounds outscored Moorestown 35-39, going 1-3-7-13-20 overall but 1-2-6-10-16 for team points.

Moorestown had won 21 consecutive BCSL Liberty Division titles going back to 1999. The meet wasn’t held from 1991 through 1998 or last year. The last time a school other than Moorestown won the Liberty title was 1990, when Shawnee won.

For Northern, senior Paige Thier placed 3rd in 21:02, freshman Zoe Chou ran 21:56 for 7th, senior Olivia Cranmer was 13th in 22:55 and freshman Addison Liwacz rounded out NBC’s top five taking 20th overall in 24:07.

Northern’s best previous finish was second in 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2009, 2015 and 2019.

Also in the top 10 were Rancocas Valley sophomore Bea Faigal [4th in 21:10], Moorestown freshman Aanya Khairari [5th in 21:21], Moorestown sophomore Mary Laufer [6th in 21:48], Moorestown sophomore Paige McCabe [8th in 21:57], R.V. senior Jordyn McArthur [9th in 22:09] and R.V. soph Kelly Ashton [10th in 22:13].

In the Patriot Division meet, junior Stephanie Renouf and senior Grace Coller ran 1-2 and Cinnaminson edged Bordentown, 28-29 for its sixth straight title. Renouf ran 19:14 and Coller 20:26.

Sophomore Anna Marino [8th in 23:21], freshman Francesca Romei [11th 23:59] and sophomore Madison Willers [15th 25:13] also scored for Cinnaminson.

Also in the top 10 were seniors Anise Howard and Haley Gardner of Delran, 3rd and 4th in 20:45 and 20:46, Bordentown senior Hannah Hornbeck [5th in 21:22], Delran freshman Shannon Waters [6th 21:55], Bordentown senior Catrina Wahner [7th 23:06], Bordentown Faith Berenato [9th 23:43] and Bordentown sophomore Isabella Basile [10th 23:54].

New Egypt junior Cassidy Burr won the Freedom girls race in 21:47, just ahead of Palmyra sophomore Cadence Anderson, who ran 21:59. Maple Shade senior Taylor McCue [3rd in 24:24], Riverside freshman Sydney Greenidge [4th in 25:01], New Egypt senior Jenna Uster [5th 25:03], Palmyra junior Olivia McGovern [6th 25:49], New Egypt senior Anna Markey [7th 25:50], Riverside senior Taylor Dill [8th 27:21], Palmyra senior Andrea Garcia [9th 27:28] and Westampton Tech sophomore Janella Sanabria [10th 27:35] rounded out the top 10.

No school had five runners in the Freedom girls so no team title was awarded.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s