Haddon Twp. boys celebrates 50th anniversary of their first XC title with their 19th!!!!!

Junior Jake Aylmer, freshman Luke Overbeck and senior Liam Duffy all finished in the top 10 to lead Haddon Township to a 40-76 win over Pitman in the South Jersey Group 1 XC Championships at Delsea.

Haddon Township won its 19th sectional XC title on the 50th anniversary of the Hawks winning their first.

Aylmer ran 16:59 to place fourth and Overbeck and Duffy ran seventh and eighth in 17:15 and 17:18.

Township sophomore Matt Conway was 11th in 17:42 and senior Josh Potter 14th in 18:12, with senior Noah Dinnerman also in the top 20, taking 18:22 for 17th as the Hawks’ sixth man.

The title is Haddon Township’s ninth in the last 11 years, 11th in Group 1 and first since 2015.

The Hawks won Group 3 in 1968, Group 2 in 1970, 1971, 1972, 1975, 1976, 1985 and 1986 and Group 1 in 1988, 1996, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015.

Pitman junior Sebastien Reed ran 16:16 to easily win his second consecutive title and third straight for Pitman, following Andrew Caccia in 2016.

Also in the top 10 were Pennsville junior Dan Wyshinski (16:41) and Audubon sophomore Zachary Williams (16:54) in second and third, Woodstown junior Xavier Seals (17:01) and Cape May County Tech senior Leo Zaccaria (17:14) in fifth and sixth, Schalick junior Jonathan Miller in ninth (17:33) and Maple Shade junior Sean Reed in 10th (17:41).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s