Paulsboro’s Edgar Rosa earns All-America honors in javelin for Rowan as part of 2-5 finish at Division 3 nationals!!!!!!

Greg Poloso and Paulsboro’s Edgar Rosa placed 2nd and 5th in the javelin Thursday at the NCAA Division 3 Championships in Rochester, N.Y., piling up 12 team points for the Profs.

Poloso, a junior from Wayne Valley and transfer from Rider, took the lead with a season-best 220-11 on his 3rd throw but got bumped into 2nd by top-seeded Will Lawrence of Wisconsin-Platteville, who threw a lifetime-best 236-8 on his 1st throw of the finals. That’s the 4th-best throw in meet history.

Poloso came back with a 212-4 and a 209-9 on his last two throws. He averaged 216-2 on his five legal throws. Lawrence and Poloso combined for eight of the nine-best throws of the competition.

Rosa, whose high school best at Paulsboro was 161-0, had a strong series with three 200-foot throws, including a 209-3 on his 4th attempt. That was only four feet shy of his PR of 213-2 from a meet at Rowan last month.

Poloso and Rosa both earn All-America honors. It was Rosa’s 1st but Poloso’s 2nd after he placed 3rd last year. Rowan has had seven javelin All-Americans the last four years the meet was contested. This is the 3rd straight year and 5th time overall Rowan has had two javelin All-Americas the same year.

Here’s a look at all the javelin All-Americas in Glassboro State / Rowan history:

1978: Mike Juskus, Hopatcong [1st, 222-8]
1979: Mike Juskus, Hopatcong [2nd, 217-1]
1980: Mike Juskus, Hopatcong [1st, 258-5]
1981: Mike Juskus, Hopatcong [1st, 248-8]
1992: Mike Boone, Burlington City [1st, 219-4]
1993: Richard Bodine, Vineland [6th, 205-11
1995: Richard Bodine, Vineland [4th, 206-0]
1995: Bruce Davies, Kinnelon [6th, 198-3]
1996: Richard Bodine, Vineland [2nd, 206-5]
1996: Ed Colleton, Matawan [5th, 195-3]
1997: Ed Colleton, Matawan [4th, 197-5]
1998: Ed Colleton, Matawan [1st, 210-4]
1999: Ed Colleton, Matawan [2nd, 209-1]
2009: Sean Biehn, Burlington City [2nd, 200-1]
2010: Sean Biehn, Burlington City [2nd, 204-5]
2019: Dan McAleavey, Howell [8th, 197-7]
2021: Julio LeBron, Memorial West New York [6th, 192-6]
2021: Dan McAleavey, Howell [2nd, 206-6]
2022: Dan McAleavey, Howell [8th, 206-11]
2022: Greg Poloso, Wayne Valley [3rd, 216-4]
2023: Greg Poloso, Wayne Valley [2nd, 220-11]
2023: Edgar Rosa, Paulsboro [5th, 209-3]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s