Bryce Tucker, Premier Wynn lead Pennsauken to 3rd straight sectional championship!!!!!!

Seniors Bryce Tucker and Premier Wynn combined to score 48 points – enough to win the title by themselves – and Pennsauken sprinted its way to its third straight sectional title at the Bubble Sunday.

Tucker won the 55-meter hurdles in 7.85 and the 800 in 2:00.12 and placed second in the 400 in 50.28, and Wynn won the 55 with a PR 6.57 and the 400 in 50.10.

They also ran the third and fourth legs on Pennsauken’s winning 1,600-meter relay team, which won in 3:26.52 to finish off the meet. Freshman KaRon Ali and junior Ladanian McGrath ran the first two legs on the 4-by-4.

Pennsauken outscored 2nd-place Winslow Township 78-42.33, and the 78 points are most in a Group 3 sectional since Kingsway scored 97 in 2015.

McGrath and Elijah Jennings picked up 2nd-place finishes, McGrath with a 2:00.18 behind Tucker in the 800 and Jennings with a 6.58 just behind Wynn.

Junior Bronze Whitmore finished 5th in the 55 in 6.71. That race saw the first seven placers all finish with 17-100ths of a second of one another. Ali also scored in the 400 with a PR 52.58.

Other winners were Highland junior Cortland Webb in the 1,600 [4:24.60], Ocean City’s Nick Scarangelli in the 3,200 [PR 9:45.09], Winslow senior Jaylen Wall in the high jump [four-inch PR 6-4] and Delsea junior Greg Masso in the shot put [53-10].

In the 3,200, Delsea’s Matthew Littlehales placed 2nd in 9:50.72, fastest by a South Jersey freshman indoors in 15 years. In 2008, Triton’s Robert Rawls ran 9:45.41 at Group 4 sectionals, also at the Bubble. Littlehales’ previous PR was 10:11.09 last week at the Bubble. That was his only previous 3,200.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s