Kingsway’s Evan Corcoran blazes all-time S.J. #9 100-meter dash at Group 3 sectionals!!!!!!!!!!

Kingsway senior Evan Corcoran shattered the sectional meet record and moved into the all-time South Jersey top-10 Friday in the 100-meter dash.

Corcoran, who began the day with a PR of 10.99, won the 100-meter dash final at the South Jersey Group 4 sectional championships at Buena in 10.55, tied for 9th-fastest in South Jersey history.

In the semis, Corcoran ran 10.72 and junior D.J. Germann of Egg Harbor Township 10.76, with Washington Township senior Jo’Nathan Silver making it three under 11 seconds with a personal-best 10.96.

In the final, Corcoran raced away from the field, breaking the FAT South Jersey Group 4 record of 10.66 set in 2005 by Lindsay Shannon of Atlantic City. That’s No. 2 in Gloucester County history and fastest in 13 years.

Germann ran 10.73 for 2nd and Silver 10.80 for 3rd. Washington Township John Williams ran 10.95 for 4th and Williamstown sophomore Nicholas Greene made it five under 11 – four from Gloucester County – in 5th in 10.99.

Corcoran’s previous PR was 10.99 at the Gloucester County Championships at Gloucester County College in Deptford Township earlier this month. Silver’s previous PR was 10.87 at the Olympic Conference Meet at Washington Township last week, Williams’ was 11.43 from Fast Times at Cherokee last month, and Green’s was 11.28 from the South Jersey Elite at Delsea.

Corcoran broke the school record of 10.64 set by Robert Page when he won the 2008 state Group 3 meet at South Plainfield,

The only faster time in Gloucester County history was run by Glassboro’s James Brown, who ran 10.47 at the 2009 South Jersey Group 1 sectional in Egg Harbor. Washington Township’s Todd Dutch 10.53 in 2001.

All-Time South Jersey 100-Meter Dash List
10.35 … Jamar Ervin [Camden], 2000
10.36 … Damiere Byrd [Timber Creek], 2010
10.45 … James Townsend [Holy Cross], 2003
10.47 … Dennis Mitchell [Edgewood], 1983
10.47 … James Brown [Glassboro], 2009
10.49 … Jonathan Taylor [Salem], 2017
10.54 … Fabian Santiago [Oakrest], 2010
10.55 … Todd Dutch [Washington Twp.], 2002
10.55 … Evan Corcoran [Kingsway], 2022
10.57 … Jamil Benjamin [Cumberland Regional], 2006
10.57 … Geoff Navaro [Absegami], 2008
10.58 … Anthony Miles [Winslow Twp.], 2003
10.60 … Marquis Bonds [Millville], 2007
10.60 … Shawney Kersey [Woodbury], 2009
10.60 … Thomas Hampton [Clayton], 2019


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s