Photo courtesy of @dawgsxctf

In one of the greatest team performances in South Jersey sectional history, Haddonfield on Saturday scored a perfect 15 points, destroyed the team course record and won its 12th consecutive title at the Group 2 sectionals.

Haddonfield became only the fifth team in state history to sweep the top five spots in a sectional championship race.

Sophomore Anne Earp, senior Jess Goode and junior Sabrina Miller each broke 19 minutes, and junior Helene Usher and sophomore Audrey Naticchia completed the 1-2-3-4-5 sweep as Haddonfield became only the fifth school in state history to score a perfect 15 at a sectional championship.

What’s incredible is that Haddonfield lost four of its top five runners from last year’s sectional championship team – seniors Sarah Naticchia, Allison Colflesh, Payton Weiner and Lindsay Colflesh all graduated.

Of Haddonfield’s seven runners Saturday, only three were even raced at sectionals a year ago – Earp, Miller and Goode.

Earp ran a huge all-course PR of 18:26 to win the individual title, with Goode running a PR 18:46 and Miller 18:53. Earp’s previous 5,000 best was 18:40 and Goode’s was 18:59.

Earp’s time is No. 3 in course history and fastest ever by a sophomore.

Usher ran 19:02 and Naticchia 19:10. Naticchia’s previous all-course 5K best was 19:33.

Haddonfield’s 6th and 7th runners finished 7th and 8th, sophomore Sarah Fetter in 19:57 and sophomore Riley Slootsky in 20:07. 

The only non-Haddonfield runner in the top eight was Cinnaminson junior Stephanie Renouf, who placed 6th in 19:31.

The only other runners in the top 10 were Werst Deptford senior Hope Siner [9th in 20:17] and Sterling sophomore Cara Coppolino [10th in 20:19].

Haddonfield finished with a 15-82 margin of victory over 2nd-place Cedar Creek. Cinnaminson [90], Haddon Heights [110] and Sterling [149] also qualified for states.

Even if you removed Haddonfield’s top two runners, the Bulldogs would have still won the team title with 17 points.

The only other teams to score a perfect 15 in South Jersey sectional history are Moorestown in Group 2 in 2001 and Haddonfield in Group 2 in 2005. Moorestown went on to win the Meet of Champions that year. Haddonfield was 5th.

Only two other schools have recorded a top-5 sweep at the sectional level. New Providence won North Jersey Section 2 Group 1 with 15 points in 1985 and Mount olive won North 2 Group 3 with 15 points in 1995.

Haddonfield’s streak of 12 consecutive sectional titles ties the longest streak in state history. Shawnee won 12 straight titles in South Jersey Group 4 from 1990 through 2001, and Ridgewood won 12 straight from 1992 through 2003 in North Jersey Section 1 Group 4. 

Overall, Haddonfield has now won 29 South Jersey XC titles. In addition to the current 12 in a row, the Bulldogs won SJ-2 in 1979, 1994, 1995, 1999, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 and SJ-1 in 1982, 1985, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1997 and 1998.

Haddonfield has won a sectional title 16 of the last 17 years and going back to 1990, 24 of the last 32 years.

Haddonfield’s insane 18:51 team average destroyed the course record of 19:19 set earlier this year by Cherokee at the Olympic Conference Championships. That’s 28 seconds faster per runner.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s