Willingboro’s Nate Robertson records best indoor South Jersey high jump in five years!!!

Willingboro senior Nate Robertson joined the 6-8 club Sunday when he placed second in the high jump at the Meet of Champions.

Robertson had cleared 6-6 at seven different meets going back a couple Bubble meets in Toms River last winter. But he finally got over the hump on Sunday, when he placed second to Jamier Wright-Collins of Paterson Kennedy, who cleared 6-10.

Willingboro has quite a high jumper history. Actually, it has quite a history in every event.

Robertson is the third Willingboro high jumper to clear 6-8. Scott Harrison cleared 6-8 in 1984 and national champ Mike Morrison cleared 7-4 1/4 at the Armory in 2003, still No. 7 in U.S. indoor track history. Outdoors, Marc Holland cleared 7-0 in 1977, Pat Collier hit 6-10 in 1983 and Dijon Thomas cleared 6-8 in 2002 when he was second to Morrison in the Meet of Champions.

Robertson is actually the first South Jersey jumper to clear 6-8 indoors in five years. Three did it in 2005 – Williamstown’s Devin Bradham and Delsea’s Ameer Banks both went 6-10 and Tariq Adams of Pleasantville cleared 6-8.

He’s the first Burlington County jumper over the bar at 6-8 indoors or outdoors since Ed Kramer of Cherokee cleared 6-8 indoors and 6-8 1/4 outdoors.

Robertson’s teammate Kameron Smith cleared 6-6 at the Meet of Champions and placed fourth. Smith cleared 6-7 earlier this season at the Bubble.

The versatile Robertson also ran 6.79 this indoor season, placing fourth in the 55 at sectionals, and long jumped only twice but did hit 21-8 1/4 at a meet last month at Ocean Breeze, which was No. 11 in the state this year and No. 5 among South Jersey jumpers.

Here’s a look at the all-time Burlington County indoor high jump list! Some great names on here!

7-4 1/4 … Mike Morrison (Willingboro), 2003
6-11 … Mike Pascuzzo (Lenape), 1980
6- 8 1/4 … Mike Murawski [Holy Cross], 2003
6- 8 … Barry Anderson [Rancocas Valley], 1977
6- 8 … Chris Walsh [Shawnee], 1983
6- 8 … Scott Harrison [Willingboro], 1984
6- 8 … J.C. Slocum [Bordentown], 1989, 1990
6- 8 … Marvin Bass [Palmyra], 1994
6- 8 … Ed Krammer [Cherokee], 2010
6- 8 … Nate Robertson [Willingboro], 2020

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s