Shelby Sills, Meredith Updike win three events each as Cinnaminson wins 4th straight BCSL Patriot Division championship!!!!!

Sophomore Shelby Sills and junior Meredith Updike won three events each to lead the Cinnaminson girls to their fourth straight BCSL Patriot Division title and seventh since 2009.

Cinnaminson edged Delran by just five points, winning the team title 167-162. There was no meet in 2017. Cinnaminson won titles in 2015, 2016 and 2018 and previously in 2002 and 2009 through 2011.

Sills won the 100 in 13.15, the 200 in 27.23 and the high jump at 5-2, and Updike won the high hurdles in 15.30, intermediate hurdles at 1:03.72 and long jump with a 16-0 1/4 jump. She won the 100 by 1-100th of a second over Reyanna Henderson of Pemberton.

That’s 60 points right there from Stills and Updike.

Updike broke the meet record in the high hurdles. The previous Patriot Division meet record was a 15.70 fully-automatic shared by Ayana Davis of Holy Cross in 2008 and Patrie Farquharson of Maple Shade in 2011. She just missed the record in the intermediates. Maddie Hummell ran a 1:03.44 in 2012.

The overall BCSL meet records are 14.7 in the highs — shared by Tonya Lee of Rancocas Valley in 1987, Stephanie Maugham of Shawnee (who became an All-America pole vaulter in college) in 1994 and Mandie Dulin of Shawnee in 1996 — and 1:01.4 in the intermediates, run by Lee in 1986.

Updike’s 15.30 is the second-fastest fully automatic high hurdles time ever recorded in any division at the BCSL meet. The fastest is a 15.26 by Ashley Edwards of Northern Burlington in the Liberty Division in 2014.

For Sills, the 100 time and the high jump clearance are PRs. The Cinnaminson high jump record is 5-5, set in 2003 by Kristen Tricocci.

Other double-digit point scorers for Cinnaminson included freshman Grace Ringer (2nd in 400, 2nd in 800), junior Brooke Adams (1st in 3,200), senior Brooke Painter (1st in PV) and senior Elena Keck (1st in SP with PR 36-3, 4th in discus).

Also, junior Emily Mulligan, Ringer, Updike and senior Maura Tumelty ran 4:14.54 to win the 1,600-meter relay.

Full results are here:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s