Micah Wood leads Rancocas Valley boys to 5th straight BCSL Liberty Division title!!!!!

Senior Micah Wood won the intermediate hurdles and triple jump and was second in the 400 to help the Rancocas Valley boys pile up 191 points and win their fifth straight BCSL Liberty Division title at Carl Lewis Stadium.

RV’s 191 points are the second most in Liberty Division meet history. The Red Devils scored 223 in 2015.

The meet was cancelled because of bad weather in 2017, but R.V. won three straight from 2014 through 2016 and the last two.

In Rancocas’s final tuneup for the South Jersey Group 4 championships, the Red Devils only doubled a handful of athletes. Some 27 different boys scored but only six in more than one event.

Wood won the 400-meter intermediates in 56.77 and triple jump at 43-5 and ran 50.93 for second to Pennsauken’s Aaron Williams (50.56) in the 400.

The 400 was Wood’s first this year in a major meet, and he broke his PR of 51.89 set indoors at sectionals at the Bennett Center this past winter.

Wood also PR’d in the triple jump, breaking his personal-best of 42-11 1/2 that he set just last weekend at the Burlington County Open. He’s also set PRs this year of 56.63 in the intermediates, 15.55 in the high hurdles and 1:57.83 in the 800.

Talk about range!

The only other R.V. winners were seniors Tai Matlock in the long jump and McQuain Hood in the javelin.

Matlock won the long jump at 20-11 1/2, leading a 1-2-3 R.V. sweep. He also took third in the 100 (11.35 after posting the 7th-fastest qualifying time) and ran fifth in the 200 (23.35).

Hood, who set a PR of 171-8 when he won the County Open last weekend, threw 164-5 to win the javelin by more than 20 feet. He was also second in the discus with a 133-10.

The only other R.V. boys to score in two events were junior Jordan Floyd, who took second in the high jump and triple jump; senior Jabri Adams, who placed in both hurdles; and junior Jonah Wood, who scored in both weight throws.

In addition to the last five titles, Rancocas Valley won BCSL titles each year from 1958 through 1971 – the first 14 years the meet was held — and also in 1973 when it was still a one-division meet, then won in 1994 and 1995 in the Patriot Division and 1998 in the Liberty.

Full results are here!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s