Veltre, Henry lead Rowan men to NJAC title and end TCNJ’s 23-YEAR hold hold on conference championship!!!

Kevin Veltre and Dan “Fitch” Henry finished 1-2 and the Rowan men’s cross country team this weekend put an end to College of New Jersey’s remarkable 23-year NJAC winning streak.

TCNJ had three of the first six finishers, but Rowan squeaked by the Lions 36-40 to win its first NJAC team title since 1993.

The College of New Jersey then won every team title from 1994 through 2016, the first two as Trenton State.

Veltre, a Brick Memorial graduate, ran 24:38 over the 8,000-meter course at Stockton University in Galloway Township, finishing about 250 meters ahead of Clearview product Henry, who was second in 25:30.

Veltre is Rowan’s first NJAC XC champ since Jonathan Sewing of Notre Dame High won the 2014 race.

Rowan won its first three NJCA titles from 1961 through 1963 and then won 17 straight from 1974 through 1990 and added titles in 1992 and 1993.

The last school other than TCNJ or Rowan to win the NJAC team title was William Paterson in 1973.

Rowan then packed three runners in a 13-second span between 9th and 13th-place: Jose Figueroa of Highland [9th in 26:03], Nick Nocco of Southern Regional [10th in 26:10] and Matt Russo of Westfield [13th in 26:16].

Three South Jersey runners were in TCNJ’s pack. Robert Abrams of Cherry Hill West [5th in 25:40], Daniel Brennan [14th in 26:19] and Dale Johnson of West Deptford [19th in 26:38], who was TCNJ’s sixth man.

Stockton placed Daniel Do of Absegami seventh in 25:47 and Joe D’Amico of Central Regional 10th in 26:06.

Here’s a list of all the Rowan runners who’ve won the NJAC XC title [Rowan was known as Glassboro State through the 1991 meet]:

2017 Kevin Veltre [Brick Memorial], 24:38
2014 Jonathan Sewnig [Notre Dame], 25:30
2013 Robert Rawls [Triton], 26:37
2011 Robert Rawls [Triton], 26:03
1995 Mike Andino [Memorial-WNY], 26:04
1993 Rob Black [Pitman], 25:12
1992 Matt Martin [Haddon Twp.], 25:25
1991 John Schilling [Pitman], 26:43
1990 Rex Myers [Delran], 26:17
1989 Rich Bostwick [Vineland], 26:05
1988 Rich Bostwick [Vineland], 25:57
1987 Rich Bostwick [Vineland], 26:05
1986 John Montgomery [West Orange], 25:56
1985 Scott Costello [Highland Park], 25:54
1984 Ron Deckert [Oakcrest], 26:23
1983 Robert Rimkis [Washington Twp.], 24:15
1982 Greg Rapp [N/A], 24:25
1981 Greg Rapp [N/A], 24:19
1980 Derick Adamson [Montclair], 25:41
1979 Jack Kruse [Cherry Hill West], 24:47
1978 Jack Kruse [Cherry Hill West], 25:25
1977 Harry Frezza [Bound Brook], 24:32
1976 Jack Kruse [Cherry Hill West], 26:36
1962 Don Lang [N/A], 20:26

All-time individual winners are here. All-time team winners are here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s