HOW THEY WON IT: Cinnaminson boys win first sectional title since 2003!!!!!

Over the next 48 hours, we’ll take a look at every South Jersey team that won a sectional title. We start with Cinnaminson boys.

The Cinnaminson boys’ first sectional title in 14 years was a true team effort.

Cinnaminson scored six or more points in a remarkable nine events on its way to 86 total points and a 24-point victory over Willingboro.

The sectional title was Cinnaminson’s fourth but first since 2003, when the Pirates outscored Haddonfield 89-82 for the win at Buena.

The Pirates also won in 1990 and 1992, all in South Jersey Group 2. Since 1985, only Pleasantville (seven) and Bridgeton (six) have won more SJ-2 team titles than Cinnaminson.

Cinnaminson got off to a strong early start with 24 points in the shot put, thanks to a sweep by Kamron Kobolak, Mateus Medeiros and Frank Stepnowski.

The Pirates’ only other win came in the 3,200-meter relay, won by the team of Max Adams, Justin Arnold and Michael and Tommy Ungvarsky – a soph, two juniors and a senior.

But Cinnaminson got second-place finishes from Steven Liu in the triple jump (43-7 3/4), Patrick Bearint in the high jump (6-4) and Ungvarsky in the 3,200 (9:40.02) and thirds from Ungvarsky in the 1,600 (4:23.16), Stepnowski in both the discus (141-6) and javelin (163-1) and James Wood in the pole vault (12-6).

The Pirates also got a fifth and sixth from Justin Arnold and Austin Gabay in the 3,200 (9:50.17, 9:51.01) and a sixth from Christian Neuman in the pole vault (12-6).



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s