IT’S ALDRIDGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Mainland soph gives S.J. 3rd straight M-of-C title

step0001-1Mainland soph Alyssa Aldridge, second to Ocean City’s Devin Grisbaum in last year’s XC Meet of Champs, out-ran Olympia Martin of Ridgewood and 2013 M-of-C winner Briana Gess of Haddonfield Saturday to win the 44th annual girls Meet of Champions at Holmdel County Park.

Aldridge won by about 100 meters.

Aldridge ran 18:21 last year, finishing two seconds behind Grisbaum, who graduated. Gess won the race two years ago in 17:44.

Aldridge, Gess and Martin ran together much of the way until Aldridge pulled away in the woods after the tennis courts in the final mile.

Martin and Gess both ran 18:25, with Martin edging Gess for second in a battle of juniors.

Complete girls results, courtesy of Jim Lambert, are here.

Here is a look at all the girls from South Jersey who have won the Meet of Champions since its inception in 1972.

As you can see, South Jersey girls won only two of the first 27 Meet of Champions individual titles but have now won 10 of the last 17, including six of the last seven.

1982 … Michelle Rowen, Washington Twp.
1994 … Jamie Weisgerber, Woodstown
1999 … Erin Donohue, Haddonfield
2000 … Erin Donohue, Haddonfield
2003 … Brittany Sedberry, Ocean City
2004 … 
Brittany Sedberry, Ocean City
2009 … 
Chelsea Ley, Kingsway
2010 … 
Megan Venables, Highland Regional
2011 … Holly Bischof, Bishop Eustace
2013 … 
Briana Gess, Haddonfield
2014 … Devin Grisbaum, Ocean City

Aldridge ran 18:05, which trims eight seconds off her Holmdel PR, set back in October at the Shore Coaches race. It’s No. 6 ever by a South Jersey girl at Holmdel and lowers her own Atlantic County record and also breaks the Cape Atlantic record of 18:12, set in 2004 by Brittany Sedberry.

17:28 Megan Venables [Highland Reg.], 2010
17:40 Michelle Rowen [Washington Twp.], 1982
17:44 Chelsea Ley [Kingsway], 2008
17:45 Briana Gess [Haddonfield], 2013
17:55 Megan Lacy [Cherokee], 2010
18:05 Alyssa Aldridge [Mainland],2015
18:09 Holly Bischof [Bishop Eustace], 2010
18:12 Brittany Sedberry [Ocean City], 2004
18:17 Marielle Hall [Haddonfield], 2009
18:19 Theresa Catunna [Cherry Hill East], 2006
18:20 Devin Grisbaum [Ocean City], 2014
18:22 Vanessa Wright [Haddonfield], 2004
18:27 Erin Donohue [Haddonfield], 2000
18:38 Casey Doyle [Shawnee], 2007
18:40 Mindy Rowand [Sterling], 1984
18:40 Dina Iacone [Washington Twp.], 2011
18:41 Shelby Cain [Haddonfield], 2011
18:43 Amanda Goetschius [Delsea], 2005
18:44 Arianna McKinney [Highland], 2003
18:49 Mara Sschiffhauer [Seneca], 2013
18:50 Dawn Cody [Paul VI], 1982
18:50 Jamie Wisgerber [Woodstown], 1994
18:50 Meghan Malloy [Haddonfield], 2011
18:52 Lisa Burkholder [Cherokee], 2004
18:53 Renee Tomlin [Ocean City], 2005
18:57 Lori Watson [Cherry Hill East], 1983
18:58 Abbey Hartman [Ocean City], 1996
18:59 Wendy Westphal [Highland], 1982
18:59 Kara Bonner [Shawnee,], 2015
19:00 Katie Van Horn [Triton], 2004

More coming soon on today’s Meet of Champs!!

Complete boys results, also courtesy of Lambo, are here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s